Useful browser shortcuts (any browser)

Srecko Kostic
2 min readNov 17, 2021

--

Using mouse when both hands are on keyboard is difficult for me, because it takes moments to grab mouse, these shortcuts helped me out with it.

Photo by Alexander Sinn on Unsplash

CTRL + T

Open new browser tab. After learning about this shortcut my life was easier, because clicking + to open new tab was annoying. Taking mouse in my hand and aiming the button to open new tab… No.

This one was a lifesaver.

CTRL + W

Close currently open browser tab. A lot when opening tab to search, it could be mistake, wrong search, wrong result, targeting search box text is annoying. But fresh open tab has focus ready for me to type, so it looks something like this:

Failing search

  1. CTRL + T (open new browser tab)
  2. Enter search text, for example: “Quality pet food”
  3. *Enter keyboard button*
  4. Not what I want… Should I target search bar again? No.
  5. CTRL + W (close current browser tab)
  6. CTRL + T (open new browser tab)
  7. Enter search text, for example “Even better pet food”
  8. *Enter keyboard button*

CTRL + TAB

In firefox, swaps between currently selected tab and previously opened one. This is really great feature.

In firefox, hold ctrl then press tab and release tab while holding ctrl, keep pressing tab to go through all of tabs.

In chrome this will go through tabs, from left to right.

These shortcuts work on most if not all browsers, most likely safari or opera, since browser companies are competitors they probably want great user experience. So these commands should be similar.

CTRL + SHIFT + TAB

This will do the reverse thing of CTRL + TAB, try it, it’s not too useful but it’s good to know.

Conclusion

These are useful and using mouse is not my thing, but some actions do require mouse… which sucks. Altho, a friend told me linux is configurable to be fully keyboard usable :-)

--

--

Srecko Kostic

I create content from my perspective on topics I learn. Some information may be incorrect, but I hope some find my content useful.